Merch. With A Mouth, By David Chronister

 

(mini Dead-Pool by foxhound30 via Deviant Art.com--(http://www.deviantart.com/morelikethis/collections/186351554?view_mode=2)

(mini Dead-Pool by foxhound30 via Deviant Art.com–(http://www.deviantart.com/morelikethis/collections/186351554?view_mode=2)

(from reddit)

SKILL LEVEL 99 FOLDING!! (from reddit)

(ME, hours of endless presentation and folding)

(ME, hours of endless presentation and folding)

I said MERCH with a mouth, not Merc with a Mouth, though DeadPool is a beloved Marvel Character, I meant Merch–Andiser, merchandise, Marketing associate, Merchandise execution team-member, Visual-Display associate, the Myriad of titles and names that all have to do with retail merchandising from a corporate level to a store level.

I was a lead expert in merchandising after my switch from fast-food management, line cook in a diner, dog trainer, cashier, and all of the other odd jobs I worked in my Late teens and earlier twenties. After I began as a part time sales associate in the home decor department I fell in love with the creative aspect, having wanted to be a designer since I was 5 when I the weird kid coloring on walls and obsessing over my Lite-Brite, and rearranging my room every day.

So eight years later, promotion after promotion I think I have unique understanding on the essence of what merchandising is and how effective of a tool it is in merchants toolbox.

So here are some musings on successful Merchandising:, I believe more accountability and creative freedom needs to be allocated to the store level, when I was allowed to do my own sets and visuals it made my job fun and inspiring, it made the store feel personalized which I saw directly effect the sales of the products.

Of course the rules of merchandise have the same concepts that all good designs have:

Proportion, Balance, Rhythm, Contrast, Emphasis & Focus and Harmony and Unity.(I am currently taking courses on the principles of Design, so if I am spewing text-book phrases I apologize, it just comes out.)

I also want to draw attention to bad merchandise and display principles from a corporate level, the amount of floor flows that do not consider the basics of how fabric moves, how most organza’s/silks/then textiles should not be table folds, how thick knits fold fast, especially to the lighten the work load of the employees. You don’t know how many times I have been at  a store at midnight trying to get the store back to a presentation look and wondered who design the clothing tables/merchandise fixtures, I know a suit in a corporate office who does not get the basic idea of the Golden Design Maxim: Form follows function.  

Here are some beautiful window displays from around the web that showcase the art of Merchandising, which I believe is the true essence of art, to tell a story, start a conversation and bring a little of magic into the mundane world:

(Louis Vuitton, NYC window display, via dw*c on Flickr)

(Louis Vuitton, NYC window display, via dw*c on Flickr)

(NYC Bergdorf Goodmans 2008 Holliday by wallyg via Flickr)

(NYC Bergdorf Goodmans 2008 Holliday by wallyg via Flickr)

(By Monsier Lagerfield, for Chanel at Harrods via http://www.thebaglady.tv/2011/09/chanel_at_harro.html)

(By Monsier Lagerfield, for Chanel at Harrods via http://www.thebaglady.tv/2011/09/chanel_at_harro.html)

(Louis Vuitton collectors spring edition 2011 NYC, from retaildesignblog.net)

(Louis Vuitton collectors spring edition 2011 NYC, from retaildesignblog.net)

 

(Selfridges London via tobysx70 via flickr)

(Selfridges London via tobysx70 via flickr)

 

(Louis Vuitton Paris via Journaldesvitrines.com via Flickr.com)

(Louis Vuitton Paris via Journaldesvitrines.com via Flickr.com)

And of coourse my favorite display was themed Alice and Wonderland done for famed designers to showcase work, among them the immortal, Alexander McQueen:

(Via my DailyBuzz.com)

(Via my DailyBuzz.com)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

